Monday was Ivy's birthday, so we had a lot of things planned. We started at the Musee Picasso, which was really cool, but it was also the world's smallest museum, I believe. (I later learned, from my friends who were in Madrid this past weekend, that a lot of stuff they say there was on loan from the Musee Picasso in Paris, so that explains some, I suppose.) It was interesting, but we did all of it in less than an hour. Fneh.
Then we had the most delicious lunch at Breakfast-in-America. It's an all-American diner, where the waiters speak English, and it is sooo refreshing. (Not that I don't love French food, but I need a break occasionally.) I had a bacon cheeseburger with a Coke, and I felt wonderfully American. Mmm... mmm.
Then we went to a place on the Champs-Elysees called Laduree, and they have the best macaroons. They're not the same as macaroons in the US, but they are a delectable treat. Kinda expensive, but worth it to try at least.
Then we went to the Musee de l'Erotisme. That was a trip. Seven stories of... well, basically porn from all different cultures and time periods. My favorite part was watching other people go through and examine things and the placards like they were in the Louvre, completely seriously. Meanwhile, my friends and I are giggling and pointing and just totally getting a kick out of how ridiculous it all is. Oy.
We ran out of time to go ice skating, but maybe next week? The rinks close March 9th, so I gotta fit it in soon!
Then Tuesday night I tried out my new dance class. It was a Modern-Jazz class with a really hippie-style teacher. He was much kinder than the last one, and he didn't treat us differently than anyone else in the class (which means he neither ignored us nor pointed us out a lot). It was a little contemporary for my liking, meaning he was really uber into breathing and contractions and really using the ground as your tool. But it was generally good. I'm definitely going back. It's Tuesdays 530-7, so I can still get home in time for dinner. Also, it was slightly cheaper than the other class. It was more difficult to understand than the ballet class, because all ballet is in French in the US anyway. However, I found that I really don't know the parts of the body, especially really specific things. So I had to watch and learn a lot more, but still, it's totally doable. And I'm glad I'm taking class with a good friend, too. It's much more comforting.
I ate with my host brother alone again that night. It was somewhat better. He smiled at me and asked me how my day was. So I talked for a little, but he didn't really respond. So then I asked him about his day, and he said, "I worked, and then I worked some more." Then he turned on the TV, and I was like, I guess that means this conversation is over. Oy. Boys.
Yesterday, my plan was to ask some French people to eat lunch with us, but the opportunity didn't really arise, and I was tired as crazy anyway. It's so hard to get up the courage, but I have to do it. I was talking to French students in my class the other weeks, but I didn't know how to talk to them more. Then someone gave me the lunch idea, but it didn't work out this week. I'm a little mad at myself. I really wanna make some French friends, so I can hang out with them and speak French at bars and stuff. (Especially since my host brother doesn't seem to be very helpful.) We'll see. I'm REALLY going to make an effort next week.
Then I went to the Benjamin Franklin exhibition at the Musee Carnavalet with Kelly. It was not as cool as I wanted it to be. There was a very informative 10-second video demonstrating the two possibilities of when lighting strikes a house: one with a lighting rod, one without. I much preferred the one without then the house just exploded. That was cool. It even had sweet sound effects and cool two-dimensional graphics! Anyway, I'm still glad I went, but I wanted more.
Also this week, Ivy showed me a 4 euro lunch deal with a huge panini of your choice and a nutella crepe! What a deal! And it's the most delicious thing in the world. I was in love! Now i've been told about a 3 euro deal with a slice of pizza, a cookie, and a water bottle. Must check these out! Love cheap lunches, then I can eat well for my 2 dinners a week that I don't eat with my family.
Last night was terrible dinner-wise. Not at all because of what we ate. But because it was the day I was the hungriest that I've ever been here. I got home at 645, and I was starving. And I knew we wouldn't eat til 8, like usual. But then I remembered it was the night that my mother has Spanish class, so we weren't going to eat until 830. But then she was late, and she didn't prepare the meal in advance, so we didn't eat until 9! It was the most terrible 2 hours of my life. I thought my stomach was eating itself. It was death.
Also, I lost internet connection on Monday night for 10 hours! Also the worst 10 hours of my life. It's amazing how addicted I am to this thing. I lose connection, and I feel like I'm lost, completely disconnected from reality and people and life. Oh man, I also thought I was going to die then. I lost sleep over it. I almost broke my computer because I threw it on the floor, I was so angry. Eventually, things worked out. But I definitely learned it's never good to go to bed angry.
Today after class, I went to Angelina, which has the best hot chocolate in Paris. But also the most expensive hot chocolate in the world. Granted, it was worth it, but I wouldn't do it again unless I really really really needed a super-awesome chocolate mix. They also looked like that had amazing pastries, but I just couldn't spend 7 euros on hot chocolate and another 7 on a Mont Blanc. Oh well... another time. Or another place that has reason... or just a heart.
I swear I'm gonna pull a Jean Valjean and steal bread because everything in this city is so expensive. Oy.
Tomorrow my art history class goes to the Musee Marmottan. Then I leave for Lyon! With Kelly! We're gonna have a blast, yo. See ya when I get back.
No comments:
Post a Comment