Friday, February 15, 2008

Some... interesting (shall we say) things have happened since we last talked...

I went out with Kelly's friends on Tuesday night... I think that was when. We were at some random bar near the Bastille, and it was nice. We chatted it up with some French guys... who offered to buy us drinks, which we apparently turned down (really don't know why looking back on it). They were nice enough. After Kelly and I left, we chatted it up over a nutella banana crepe. Good memories.

Wednesday after class, I went lingerie shopping. It seems necessary that I have French lingerie. I was indeed successful. However, I did go home immediately after, because for about a week now, I've been getting these terrible headaches at the most random times. It doesn't appear to be related to sleep, dehydration, food, sickness, or whatever else is normal to cause headaches. So I went home to sleep it off.

Thursday was interesting... Rachel and I went to our first ballet class together. It was terrible. The professor was so mean to us because we weren't French, even though we told her we could still understand her. There was another girl from Germany who didn't speak any French, but we could speak with her in English. The professor really picked on her. It was so obnoxious and inappropriate. Moreover, the course was a lower intermediate course, and we were clearly better than everyone else in the class. But she seemed to correct us more than anyone else, which was ridiculous. We were so upset. Then the class cost 20 euros! Blah!! Never again. We'll definitely have to find another class.

Also, the class went a half hour longer than I expected, so I had to call my host family and tell them I was going to be late for dinner. I was so apologetic. They said not to worry, that in all the years of American students they've hosted, I'm the only one who's ever called to tell them I would be late. So I guess I'm cool like that. My family is awesomely understanding.

Then it was still Valentine's Day / Chantel's 21st birthday! So of course we had to celebrate! We went to a club that lets in international people free, so that was awesome. Meeting all kinds of people from all over the world... wicked sweet, eh? Then Chantel and I somehow managed to dance for six hours straight without realizing the time flying by. We were home by 630am. Whoops. I had class at 1230pm, and I'm proud to say that I went!

Number one thing I learned at the club: French guys are actually really sketchy.

Moving on... went to my 2-hour art history course at the Musee d'Orsay today. Then I spent two hours in the Centre Pompidou and two hours at the Louvre with my friend. I can only say that I'm exhausted. I am going to crash like whoa right now.

No comments: