Saturday, February 16, 2008

So today I slept late... 'twas very necessary. Then I went to La Comedie-Francaise to see Le Misanthrope by Moliere. It was great. I actually enjoyed it a lot more than L'Ecole des Femmes. I think this was better directed and better acted. Don't get me wrong, Daniel Auteuil was great in the last show. But this cast was a great ensemble. They were ALL good. And all of their characters were wonderful. They were so theatrical, and their physical humor was absolutely magnificent, especially for those of us that couldn't understand all the French. I really enjoyed myself. Granted, it was over three hours long, and I may have slept through part of it, but overall, it was an excellent show. Also, the set design was really interesting. (This might be hard to describe, since I actually don't know the correct theatre terminology, but I'll do my best.) They used white sheets/scrims/backdrops to form a triangle with the front of the stage. They were lightly decorated with squares and rectangles to make it look like French walls... you know what I mean by French walls... very classical... very Moliere. And then there were cut outs for the doors, one on each side. Then the cool part was that, depending on how you light the stage, you can see through the sheets, right? So there were more sheets behind in patterns to make it look like hallways and other rooms. So without any actual construction, they were able to create the effect of a giant French mansion. So that was awesome. Also, the French take longer bows than in the US. They have like five encores... it's a little repetitive. Oh well. Gotta love the French.

Then I spent the rest of the day in that area, which is the Louvre area. I walked down the Rue de Rivoli and had a chocolate crepe. Then I walked through the Tuileries. Wandered down the Seine to the Hotel de Ville, and crossed a bridge to Notre Dame. I had dinner at Le Quasimodo. Haha. Then I took the bus home. I like taking the bus home, because I don't have to change metros 3 times, and it doesn't smell, and I get to see Paris by night. It's wonderful.

Tomorrow I have nothing planned. So I'll wander. Maybe go to the Bois de Boulogne. Maybe go to Angelina's (best hot chocolate in Paris). Maybe see Victor Hugo's house. Who knows?

No comments: