Saturday, February 2, 2008

So we saw Moliere's L'Ecole des Femmes (The School for Wives) on Wednesday night with Daniel Auteuil. For those of you who are uncultured, Daniel Auteuil is one of France's leading actors. He has been in hundreds of movies, and he's absolutely amazing. And he was absolutely wonderful in this show. I can't say that I understood all of it, and I certainly didn't get a lot of the high humor and the wit and the play on words. However, I did know what was going on. And I think that's something.

Then Thursday we started classes. I had my French literature and my French language courses on Thursday. They were pretty much alright. Our literature professor made us feel stupid, because we didn't know anything about French writers during the Enlightenment. And we were like... sorry our American teachers suck. Then our language professor told us she was a witch. And we were like... yea, ok... that's great! Anyway, I guess the classes will be fine. I feel like they're a lot of work. I don't wanna work while I'm abroad. That's ridiculous. Then art history was Friday. It was chill. It'll be less work... more fun. My other class is called Justice, Peace, and Charity: Social and Political Morals. We'll see how that goes on Tuesday.

I'm also sick... and that's lame. I had to blow people off today, cause I felt like dying/sleeping. Then I didn't even sleep very well. Lameness. But I had to get up to go to the circus!!! Which was like porn... I wish I had pictures to show you, but I only took video. I suppose I could figure out how to upload those, too. We'll see how adventurous I am at 2am. Anyway, the Cirque d'Hiver was a porno. It's actually a good example of French-American cultural differences. It's a circus, so there are like three billion children in the audience, and there's a chorus of girls, and each time they enter, they're wearing less clothing. By the end, you could see their entire butts. So yea, I took video. And they're just dancing and smiling, half-naked. And we were all like... but there are four-year-olds watching!!! And then, there was one girl who did a whole routine hanging from a hoop. She was an acrobat, gymnast, uber-flexible dancer, like Marissa, kinda thing, where she hangs onto the hoop and contorts her body in cool ways. She was totally awesome, but quite literally there were some sequins to cover her nipples and some sequins to cover her vagina, and that was it. She was basically naked. And then she jumps into a diamond-shaped pool of water, and she's all sexual. She's thrashing around in the water and rubbing her body all over. And we were all... what the hell is this??? Why is Tufts paying for us to see a porno for children? What is going on??? It was so absurd. Like, I guess I'm glad I went, but I'm glad I didn't pay for it.

That was fun. Then we went out to dinner, and we've gotten really into these fixed price menus, where you get 3 courses for like 10 euros. It's pretty great, and the food is always good. And we've also discovered hitting up happy hour before dinner. Good times. And chocolate mousse is really great.

Tomorrow I'm also seeing a dance show with my friend Sophia. It should be really awesome. I'll tell you all about it! And also tomorrow, we're going to a bar to watch the Super Bowl... all night long. Hope I'm feeling better by then!

No comments: